Helias Catholic High School recognized junior, sophomore and freshman students for their academic performance, service and achievements during a ceremony Thursday, May 12, in the school’s St. Pius X Chapel, following the senior awards assembly held the previous week.

Two juniors, two sophomores and three freshmen received the Blessed Theresa of Jesus Gerhardinger Service Award for 100 or more community service hours during the 2021-22 school year:

  • Juniors: Lesley Uong (234 hours) and Kaitlyn Palmer (109 hours).
  • Sophomores: Claire Ashley (136 hours) and Jordan Howard (122 hours).
  • Freshmen: Jonathon Hasty (259 hours), Julian Schmidt (156 hours) and Payton Ratcliff (147 hours).

Five students received the Glory of Missouri Award, which recognizes students who exemplify the 14 characteristics upheld by the state of Missouri: knowledge, liberty, equality, law, justice, fraternity, education, progress, honor, truth, virtue, temperance, enterprise and charity:

  • Bridget Hollingsworth, Liberty.
  • Hannah Meystrik, Education.
  • Mutale Chilufya, Truth.
  • Andrew Dowden, Enterprise.
  • Ella Patterson, Charity.

Enzo Lenart received the Dr. Richard Skain Memorial Award, given to a sophomore who has demonstrated excellent character and scholarship.

Henry Neuenswander and Danielle Buker received the Jayne and Norb Luebbering Memorial Award, given to a junior girl and boy who have outstanding qualities of loyalty, character and participation in school activities.

Claire Cassmeyer and Sam Lopez received the Patricia Skain Memorial Award. These students were chosen based on scholarship, character and service to Helias Catholic.

Kailey Cracraft received the Bert Koester Memorial Award, given to a sophomore living in Cole County who has shown exemplary effort, initiative and character.

Aleksandr Careaga and Lela Mueller received the Helen and Mary Skain Award, given to a freshman boy and girl based on scholarship, character and service to Helias Catholic.

Danielle Buker, Jack Klebba, Henry Neuenswander and Drake Perkins received the Triple H Award for receiving three varsity letters in a single school year.

Henry Neuenswander and Mikah Edwards received the Carl M. Vogel Award, given to a junior boy and girl who have participated in athletics and plan to continue during their senior year.  Selection is made by the coaching staff on the basis of total contribution to the sports program.

The Hawthorn Bank Award presents a gift certificate to a boy and girl in each class who have the highest academic achievement. The following were chosen by random selection from the top students in each class:

  • Juniors: Joseph Raley and Leah Kolb.
  • Sophomores: Mark McDonald and Isabella Herrbold.
  • Freshmen: Samuel Grothoff and Frances Grellner.

The following students received the Bonnot and Hemmel Scholarship, given to the highest-ranking scholastic junior. Each of these students has a 4.0 GPA: George Bestgen, Sarah Case, Patrick Conley, Victoria Hentges, Aiden Hoeme, Leah Kolb, Miranda Kolb, Trevor Kolb, Aidan Martin, Avery Massman, Hannah Meystrik, Joseph Raley, Jacob Rembecki, Brooke Reutter, Tori Schmidt, Camryn Strope, Abigail Tesreau and Kadence Wynn.